top of page
Search
  • Chris Lim

Gospel Living Means Dying to Self - Philippians 1:12-26

A few years back I was responsible to lead a small group bible study. I invested a lot of time and effort into it, and got a sense of satisfaction when people told me how helpful the bible study was to their spiritual life. If I were honest, I would have been offended if someone else stepped in and started fiddling with my bible study group, with what I worked so hard to build. That’s not a good reflection on me. But at least I was willing to step up and sacrifice myself for others, right?


The Apostle Paul has something to say to my heart about that. In Philippians chapter 1 Paul demonstrates what living for others really looks like. In his example we see that gospel living is not leading a bible study or being willing to go out of your way to help others. We learn from Paul that gospel living means dying to yourself.


In Philippians chapter 1 we find Paul in prison. We’re not exactly sure why Paul is in prison, but it is clear that his imprisonment is for Christ and as a result, others have been emboldened with confidence to preach the gospel. In fact, some of those who were encouraged by his imprisonment to preach the gospel, did it out of love. But others were actually preaching the gospel out of spite, for selfish reasons, trying to afflict Paul while he was in prison. There were people that were so angry or bitter towards Paul that they were preaching the gospel out of spite! Can you believe that? How distorted.


What was Paul’s response to that sort of personal attack? “It’s not about me.” Whether others preach out of spite, it’s about the gospel, not me. Whether I live or die, it’s about the gospel, not me. This was Pauls’ passion, his heart, the reason for his existence. He’s now in prison because of it, and there is a very real possibility that he might die. But Paul has joy because he understands it’s not about him, his preaching, or his ministry… it’s about the furtherance of the gospel, and Paul believes that this time it might lead to his death.

But Paul’s response to his likely death while in prison is anticipation! He understands that if he were to die, he would be with Christ, enjoying the unfathomable blessings and joys of heaven for eternity! This is the consistent theme of the blessing of death for a believer throughout scripture.


Psalm 116:15 “Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints.”


2 Corinthians 5:8 “Yes, we are of good courage, and we would rather be away from the body and at home with the Lord.”


From Jesus’ high priestly prayer in John 17 we get a glimpse of why it is that for the believer death is a gift. John 17:24 “Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world.”


Paul’s desire was to die and be in heaven with Jesus, because that is much better. But he is willing to delay going to heaven and stay here to help his brothers and sisters in Christ.


If I were to be totally transparent with you, I can talk a good game, and even convince myself sometimes that I’m willing to sacrifice for others, but my love for others is often selective, or even selfish. It’s easy for me to love others when I want something from them, or when they are treating me the way I want to be treated. It’s easy for me to love others when I choose whom I’m going to love, what types of people I want to love, when I feel like demonstrating love, and when it’s convenient for me to love others.


How far do we have to go still, until we have hearts that love others so much that we would be willing to delay or even give up heaven for others, that we would be willing to spend eternity in hell, if it meant the salvation of others? In Romans 9:3 Paul said, “For I could wish that I myself were accursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my brothers, my kinsmen according to the flesh.”


I can’t even fathom that! Paul said he would be willing to spend eternity separated from Christ in hell, if it meant others receiving the gift of salvation. I am nowhere near that. I can’t even say what he is saying here in Philippians, that he’s good with delaying heaven to be able to serve others.


I love reading the stories of those saints who suffered for their faith, who have been imprisoned, tortured and died for the faith. We tend to think that ultimate love is being willing to die for the gospel. But we have this backwards in our minds. For us, dying for Christ is the ultimate sacrifice. But for Paul, the sacrifice is not dying for Christ, but rather living for his brothers and sisters in Christ.


You see for Paul the ultimate sacrifice is to live his life here on earth to evangelize the lost and edify the saved. Paul was willing to do that and delay going to heaven if it meant being able to serve the believers around him. May God work in our hearts to make us like Paul.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page